Experience Reports: “A lateral career move” by Silke Keshta

LOESCHE Keshta, SilkeAfter completing my “Abitur” (the German school-leaving certificate, permitting entry to a university), I apprenticed as a cabinet maker, subsequently finishing my academic studies at the RWTH in Aachen in the field of architecture and urban planning. Thereafter, I have been successfully employed as a “Diplom-Ingenieur” (Chartered Engineer). However, I was not very pleased with the working conditions in the construction industry. Therefore, in 2007, I started investigating development opportunities in other industry sectors. Thus, I came across the profession of “Technical Editor”.

At that time, Loesche was looking for support in the area of Technical Communication in order to establish a training centre in their Customer Service department. I was given the opportunity to enter their internship and further my education as Technical Editor. In addition to Loesche’s internal training, I was permitted to participate in external professional development courses with a private educational institution called “tecteam”.

It did not take long for me to realise that I enjoyed my new profession very much, and I knew that I had made the right decision, making that lateral career move. After receiving my certificate from “tekom”, I finished my internship in 2009. Subsequently, I was offered a staff position as Technical Editor in Loesche’s Training Center.

My responsibilities in the Training Center are very diversified: I am engaged in researching and preparing a great variety of technical contents for in-house and external training documentation, for eLearing courses, and for customer documentation.

Engagement, creative thinking, and suggestions are always welcome here; and that is what my department manger Ms. Doris Bruns constantly promotes. This allows me to set my own goals. And so far, I could always select, express, and implement my objectives. This way, I focussed on and familiarised myself with the subject matter of terminology. Now, I am ready to accept the position as Project Manager for Terminology and Translation Management.

Related Posts:

Loesche GmbH will be represented on VDI nachrichten recruiting day, Dortmund